Presentation

Loredana_Saveanu_159x114 Loredana Saveanu

mail_rouge48

Modulation of inflammatory response by cell specific storage endosomes

Even if regulated trafficking of vesicles and their content is essential for a large diversity of cellular processes, the involved factors and mechanisms remain poorly understood. Our results from the last years indicate that the Insulin Responsive Aminopeptidase (IRAP), a type II transmembrane protein, is a dual function factor. As we have previously demonstrated, IRAP is a peptidase involved in antigen trimming required for antigen cross-presentation in dendritic cells. However, we have recently discovered that IRAP plays an essential role in the trafficking of cell-specific storage endosomes, which is independent of its enzymatic function.

Cell-specific storage endosomes are vesicles that show a slow constitutive recycling, but can translocate rapidly to cell surface under cell-specific stimulation. Despite their broad tissues distribution, storage endosomes were until now studied almost exclusively in adipocytes, where they ensure rapid changes in surface protein composition in response to insulin stimulation. Our unpublished results on immune cells show that IRAP storage endosomes regulate the innate immunity by modulation of phagosome maturation, endosomal TLRs signaling and probably cytoskeleton remodeling. In preliminary experiments, systemic deletion of IRAP in mice generated an aberrant inflammatory response, which culminated with animal death during infections.

Based on our preliminary results obtained mainly in dendritic cells, our group aims to investigate the role of IRAP storage endosomes in the inflammatory response in both immune cells and non-immune cells (as endothelium, renal mesangium and epithelium) at two levels:

1) at the cellular level by investigating the cell biology of storage endosomes and their trafficking regulation and

2) at the organism level by creating mouse models with targeted deletion of IRAP in immune and non-immune cells that are active players in inflammation. Since the storage endosomes dynamics is sensitive to external regulation, understanding their function in inflammatory response will provide new potential targets for active modulation of inflammation.

illustrations saveanu

A. The aminopeptidase IRAP is the hallmark of cell-specific storage endosomes. These vesicles have a constitutive slow recycling and can be rapidly translocated to the cell surface under cell specific stimulation (insulin stimulation in adipocytes or IgE-IC in mast cells). In dendritic cells, IRAP and its endosomal compartment are involved in regulation of both, innate and adaptive immunity).

B. IRAP endosomes morphology (immunofluorescent microscopy) in murine dendritic cells.

       

Selected publications
  • Babdor J, Descamps D, Adiko AC, Tohmé M, Maschalidi S, Evnouchidou I, Vasconcellos LR, De Luca M, Mauvais FX, Garfa-Traore M, Brinkmann MM, Chignard M, Manoury B, Saveanu L. IRAP(+) endosomes restrict TLR9 activation and signaling. Nat Immunol. 2017 May;18(5):509-518.
  • Weimershaus M, Maschalidi S, Sepulveda F, Manoury B, van Endert P, Saveanu L.  Conventional dendritic cells require IRAP-Rab14 endosomes for efficient cross-presentation. J Immunol. 2012 Feb 15;188(4):1840-6.
  • Saveanu L, Carroll O, Weimershaus M, Guermonprez P, Firat E, Lindo V, Greer F, Davoust J, Kratzer R, Keller SR, Niedermann G, van Endert P. IRAP identifies an endosomal compartment required for MHC class I cross-presentation. Science. 2009  Jul 10;325(5937):213-7.
  • Saveanu L, Carroll O, Lindo V, Del Val M, Lopez D, Lepelletier Y, Greer F, Schomburg L, Fruci D, Niedermann G, van Endert PM. Concerted peptide trimming by  human ERAP1 and ERAP2 aminopeptidase complexes in the endoplasmic reticulum. Nat  Immunol. 2005 Jul;6(7):689-97.
  • Guermonprez P, Saveanu L, Kleijmeer M, Davoust J, Van Endert P, Amigorena S.ER-phagosome fusion defines an MHC class I cross-presentation compartment in dendritic cells. Nature. 2003 Sep 25;425(6956):397-402. 
Team members
Team leader  Loredana Saveanu, CR
   
 Postdoc  Irini Evnouchidou
 PhD student  Adiko Aimé
 PhD student  Samira Benadda
 Research assistant  Marcelle Bens

Présentation

Loredana_Saveanu_159x114

Loredana Saveanu

mail_rouge48

Modulation de la réponse inflammatoire par les endosomes de stockage

Le trafic des vésicules intracellulaires et leur contenu est essentiel pour un grand nombre de fonctions de la cellule, pour autant les facteurs protéiques et les mécanismes impliqués dans le trafic endosomal sont à nos jours encore incomplets et mal connus. Nos résultats des dernières années indiquent que l’aminopeptidase IRAP (Insulin Responsive AminoPeptidase), une protéine transmembranaire de type II, a une double fonction. Grâce à sa fonction enzymatique, elle agit comme une aminopeptidase d’élagage d’antigène, mais en même temps, elle joue un rôle majeur dans la régulation du trafic des endosomes de stockage, rôle qui est indépendant de sa fonction enzymatique.

Les endosomes de stockage sont des vésicules avec un recyclage constitutif lent. Leur caractéristique majeure est leur translocation rapide à la surface cellulaire sous une stimulation spécifique de chaque type cellulaire. Même s’ils sont exprimés d’une façon quasi-ubiquitaire, ces endosomes ont été étudiés majoritairement dans les adipocytes où leur trafic est régulé par l’insuline. Nos résultats récents sur des cellules du système immunitaire montrent que les endosomes IRAP contrôlent plusieurs aspects de l’immunité innée (maturation du phagosome, signalisation via TLRs, et probablement remodelage du cytosquelette). La délétion systémique du gène IRAP chez la souris génère une réponse inflammatoire aberrante qui peut culminer avec la mort de l’animal au cours des infections modèle.

Sur la base de nos résultats préliminaires obtenus majoritairement dans les cellules dendritiques, notre groupe envisage d’étudier le rôle des endosomes de stockage IRAP+ dans la réponse inflammatoire des cellules immunes et non-immunes (comme les cellules épithéliales, endothéliales ou mesangiales) a deux niveaux :

1) au niveau cellulaire par l’étude de la biologie cellulaire de ce compartiment intracellulaire et de sa régulation.

2) au niveau de l’organisme par la génération des animaux modèles avec une délétion d’IRAP spécifique de type cellulaire (cellules dendritiques ou épithéliales). Vu que la dynamique des endosomes IRAP est régulée par une stimulation extérieure à la cellule, la compréhension du rôle des endosomes de stockage dans la réponse inflammatoire peut conduire a des nouvelles stratégies de modulation de l’inflammation.

illustrations saveanu

A. L’aminopeptidase IRAP décrit les endosomes de stockage spécifiques de chaque type cellulaire. Ces endosomes recyclent constitutivement d’une façon lente et peuvent être transportés rapidement à la surface cellulaire sous une stimulation caractéristique à chaque type cellulaire (insuline en adipocytes, IgE-IC dans les mastocytes). Dans les cellules dendritiques, IRAP et le compartiment endosomal sont impliqués à la fois dans les réponses immunes adaptatives et dans les réponses immunes innées.

B. Morphologie des endosomes IRAP (immunofluorescence) dans les cellules dendritiques de souris. 

Meilleures publications
  • Babdor J, Descamps D, Adiko AC, Tohmé M, Maschalidi S, Evnouchidou I, Vasconcellos LR, De Luca M, Mauvais FX, Garfa-Traore M, Brinkmann MM, Chignard M, Manoury B, Saveanu L. IRAP(+) endosomes restrict TLR9 activation and signaling. Nat Immunol. 2017 May;18(5):509-518.
  • Weimershaus M, Maschalidi S, Sepulveda F, Manoury B, van Endert P, Saveanu L.  Conventional dendritic cells require IRAP-Rab14 endosomes for efficient cross-presentation. J Immunol. 2012 Feb 15;188(4):1840-6.
  • Saveanu L, Carroll O, Weimershaus M, Guermonprez P, Firat E, Lindo V, Greer F, Davoust J, Kratzer R, Keller SR, Niedermann G, van Endert P. IRAP identifies an endosomal compartment required for MHC class I cross-presentation. Science. 2009  Jul 10;325(5937):213-7.
  • Saveanu L, Carroll O, Lindo V, Del Val M, Lopez D, Lepelletier Y, Greer F, Schomburg L, Fruci D, Niedermann G, van Endert PM. Concerted peptide trimming by  human ERAP1 and ERAP2 aminopeptidase complexes in the endoplasmic reticulum. Nat  Immunol. 2005 Jul;6(7):689-97.
  • Guermonprez P, Saveanu L, Kleijmeer M, Davoust J, Van Endert P, Amigorena S.ER-phagosome fusion defines an MHC class I cross-presentation compartment in dendritic cells. Nature. 2003 Sep 25;425(6956):397-402. 
Composition de l'équipe
Equipe ATIP AVENIR Loredana Saveanu, CR
   
 Post-doctorant Irini Evnouchidou
 Doctorant Adiko Aimé
 Etudiante en thèse Samira Benadda
 Ingénieur Marcelle Bens