Presentation

Equipe VP_AC

Valérie Paradis & Alain Couvineau

mail_rouge48

From inflammation to cancer in digestive diseases

This project results of the merging of 3 research teams from the past 5-years contract and aims to investigate specific aspects of the physiopathology of the sequence inflammation-cancer in digestive tract, identify new diagnostic markers and develop innovative therapeutic targets. First axis, focusing on liver carcinogenesis related to metabolic syndrome, will identify the specific mechanisms involved in inflammatory liver damages by favoring original in situ molecular approaches such as mass spectrometry imaging (MSI). The contribution of lipid environment (liver or visceral adipose tissue) in the progression to hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) will also be investigated. Second axis will provide new insights in the role of GPCR in the progression of digestive cancers, which will allow the development of new therapeutic strategies. We will focus on (1) orexins and their receptors (OXR) which induce a robust apoptosis in digestive cancers, and (2) CXCR4 which confers survival, invasion potential to cancer cells. We will be especially interested to evaluate potential effects of these targets in preclinical models of digestive cancers that have developed resistance to conventional cytotoxic or targeted therapies.

Research projects:

Work package: Inflammation, fibrosis and cancer in the liver

Metabolic syndrome (MS) is becoming the leading cause of chronic liver diseases worldwide and may result in the development of chronic liver diseases and hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC). Progression of liver carcinogenicity in MS is complex, involving the development of tissue damages (steatosis and fibrosis) and also an inflammatory systemic background through adipokines production from visceral adipose tissue

Our project aims:

- To study the molecular mechanisms involved in the development of early liver damage related to MS (steatosis and steatohepatitis) which start in centrolobular area. The liver lipidomic pattern will be determined by an in situ approach. This study will allow to identify profibrogenic mediators specifically induced in the liver damage progression observed in MS. The functional role of fibrogenesis will estimated by using cell co-culture models (liver stellar cells/hepatocytes/endothelial cells).

- To decipher the specific molecular mechanisms involved in tumor progression associated to MS by the determination of the role of visceral adipose tissue (VAT) through the production of Fatty Acid Binging Proteins (FABPs) and lipid chaperones which are involved in the fatty acid trafficking. The role of pro-oncogenic of FABP4 will determined using in vitro and in vivo experimental models. Moreover, we will examine the impact of tissue modifications in the peritumoral hepatic parenchyma on HCC development by using in situ proteomic and lipidomic approaches. In this context, we will evaluate the anti-tumoral effects of putative therapeutical targets including the metformine.

This project will be based on the development of innovative technologies including mass spectrometry imaging (MALDI imaging), tissue culture models (ex vivo models) and animal models which reproduced liver damages related to MS (High fat diet, fructose diet …). The determination of molecular species identified by MALDI was carried out in collaboration with JM Camadro’s group (Institut J. Monod, Paris).

Work package: GPCRs and digestive cancers (Couvineau Alain’s group)

Since few years ago, drugs targeting G protein-coupled receptors GPCRs are shown to have excellent therapeutic benefits. In this context, our project is to study the role and clinical interest of GPCRs in particular orexin receptors (OXR), in digestive cancer development. Orexins, hypothalamic peptides, interacted with two GPCR (OX1R and OX2R). They regulate sleep, wakefulness, feeding, breathing, reward system, or drug addiction. We have shown that orexins induced a robust apoptosis in colon cancer cell lines which expressed OX1R. This cell death was mediated through ITIM sequence resulting in the recruitment and theactivation of the SHP-2, leading to a mitochondrial apoptosis. Furthermore, we have demonstrated that OX1R is aberrantly expressed in digestive cancers including colon cancers, pancreas cancers and liver cancers but inversely is not present in normal tissue. Moreover we have demonstrated that orexins have strong anti-tumoral effects in pre-clinical models of digestive cancers.

Our project aims:

image couvineau1To study the presence of of orexins and theirreceptors in various pre-cancerous and inflammatory states in the digestive tract, especially in the early stage of colonic and pancreatic carcinogenesis encompassing IBD and adenomas (polyps, PanIN). To evaluate the dynamic role of OX1R during the carcinogenesis, we will use various mouse models such as chemically colitis- induced mice (DSS) and/or genetically modified mice as EXCY2 model (E. Ogier-Denis, Paris) or IL10-/- (A. Jarry, Nantes) which develop spontaneously colitis-associated cancer. Xenografted models produced from patient resected tumors (xenograft derived patient, PDX) are currently in progress

OX1R expression in pancreatic adenocarcinoma

imagne couvineau2To study the role of orexins on isolated cells and/or tumors explants maintained in culture from resected patient tumors (colon, pancreas and liver). This innovative approach developed in our team, will allow us to determine the anti-tumoral effect of orexins ex vivo by measuring various markers of apoptosis, hypoxia and angiogenesis.

To study the OX1R signaling pathways in which the recruitment of SHP2 and oxidative stress activation (p38, ROS, NRF2….) induces a mitochondrial apoptosis leading to anti-tumoral effects of

orexins and also their anti-inflammatory properties.

To define the structure-function relationships of orexins and OX1R in order to develop new agonists having a therapeutical interest in the treatment of digestive cancers (colon, pancreas and liver). Indeed, the determination of residues involving in the interaction between orexins and OX1R using alanine-scanning, side directed mutagenesis associated to 3D molecular modeling approaches will allow us to design, in collaboration with pharmaceutical industry, new molecules. Moreover, alternative strategies such as the production of antibodies mimicking the agonist properties of orexins will be planned

Anti-tumoral effect of orexins in xenografted colon cancer cell line (HT-29)

This project could lead :

image couvnineau3 1) To decipher the role of a number of GPCRs including OX receptor in the induction of apoptosis processes;

2) To define the potential role of orexins in the treatment of digestive cancers and IBD;

3) To design innovative molecules having therapeutical interest.

3D model of OX1R

Selected publications
Team members
Team leaders Valérie Paradis, PUPH
Alain Couvineau, DR 
Researchers Pierre Bedossa, PUPH
  Jacques Belghiti, PUPH
  Laurent Castera, Médecin hosp
  Alain Couvineau, DR 
  Anne Couvelard, PUPH
  Jérôme Cros, AHU
  Olivier Farges, PUPH
  Nathalie Guedj, MCUPH
  Pascal Hammel, PUPH
  Rachida Lebtahi, PUPH 
  Philippe Levy, PUPH 
  Valérie Paradis, PUPH
  Nicolas Pote, AHU 
  Vinciane Rebours, MCUPH
  Philippe Ruszniewski, PUPH
  Alain Sauvanet, PUPH
  Thierry Voisin, CR 
PhD Students Nathalie Goutte
  Stéphanie Dayot
C Neuzillet
Jérome Raffenne
Engeneers & technicians Miguel Albuquerque, IR 
  Pierre Bourgouin, Ing
  Valérie Gratio, IE 
  Floriane Lagadec, IE
  Samira Laouirem, IE 
  Julie Le Faouder, IE 
  Gwendoline Le Guilloux, AI
  Pascal Nicole, IE

Présentation

Equipe VP_AC

Valérie Paradis & Alain Couvineau

mail_rouge48

De l’inflammation au cancer dans les maladies digestives

Ce projet résulte de la fusion de 3 équipes du précédent contrat quinquennal et vise à étudier la physiopathologie de certains aspects de la séquence inflammation-cancer, l’identification de nouveaux marqueurs diagnostiques et le développement d’approches thérapeutiques innovantes dans la cancérogenèse digestive. Il comprend 2 thèmes principaux. Le 1er axe de recherche s’intéressera à la cancérogenèse hépatique associée au syndrome métabolique et visera à préciser les mécanismes spécifiques mis en jeu dans la physiopathogénie des lésions hépatiques inflammatoires précoces par des approches d’imagerie in situ (protéomique et lipidomique) et l’étude de leur progression vers le carcinome hépatocellulaire en déterminant la contribution de l’environnement lipidique (hépatique ou viscéral). Le 2nd axe visera à étudier le rôle des GPCR afin de développer de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques : (1) Etude des orexines et de leurs récepteurs, en tant que molécules pro-apoptotiques, et (2) CXCR4, molécule impliquée dans la survie et le potentiel invasif des cellules tumorales. Nous évaluerons les effets de ces cibles dans des modèles précliniques de cancers digestifs ayant développé des mécanismes de résistance à des drogues conventionnelles cytotoxiques ou thérapies ciblées.

Le syndrome Métabolique (SM) devient l’un des principaux facteurs de risque d’hépatopathies chroniques et donc de cancer du foie au premier rang dusquel le carcinome hépatocellulaire (CHC). Le processus de cancérogénèse hépatique lié au SM est complexe et met en jeu le développement de lésions tissulaires hépatiques (stéatose/stéato-hépatite et fibrose), mais également un environnement inflammatoire systémique via la production d’adipokines, principalement par le tissu adipeux viscéral.

Notre projet vise à :

(1) étudier les mécanismes moléculaires impliqués dans le développement des lésions hépatiques précoces associées au SM (stéatose et stéato-hépatite) qui débutent dans la région centrolobulaire en caractérisant le profil lipidomique hépatique par une approche in situ. Cette étude permettra d’identifier les médiateurs profibrogéniques spécifiquement induits au cours de la progression des lésions hépatiques observées au cours du SM et d’évaluer leur rôle fonctionnel dans le processus de fibrogenèse dans des modèles de coculture cellulaire (cellules étoilées du foie/hépatocytes/cellules endothéliales).

(2) Préciser les mécanismes moléculaires spécifiques impliqués dans la progression tumorale associée au SM en étudiant le rôle du tissu adipeux viscéral via la production des Fatty Acid Binging Proteins (FABPs), chaperonnes lipidiques impliquées dans le trafic des acides gras.  Nous nous intéressons plus particulièrement à FABP4 et déterminerons son rôle pro-oncogénique dans des modèles experimentaux in vitro et in vivo. Nous étudierons également l’impact des modifications tissulaires du parenchyme hépatique péritumoral sur le développement du CHC par une approche de protéomique et lipidomique in situ. Dans ce contexte, nous évaluerons les effets anti-tumoraux de cibles thérapeutiques potentielles, comme la metformine.

L’ensemble de ce projet repose sur le développement d’outils technologiques originaux mis au point dans le laboratoire, tels que la protéomique et lipidomique in situ (MALDI  imaging), le modèle ex vivo de culture de coupes tissulaires fraiches, et de modèles animaux reproduisant les lésions hépatiques associées au SM (High fat diet, fructose diet, …). Pour la caractérisation moléculaires des espèces identifiées par MALDI, nous collaborons étroitement avec le groupe de JM Camadro (Institut J. Monod, Paris). 

GPCRs et cancers digestifs (Groupe Couvineau Alain)

Depuis plusieurs années, il est apparu que les récepteurs couplés aux proteines G (GPCR) étaient des cibles potentielles dans le traitement de certains cancers. Dans ce contexte, notre projet est d’étudier le rôle d’un de ces GPCR, à savoir le récepteur des orexines dans le développement des cancers digestifs. Les orexines sont des neuropeptides qui interagissent avec deux récepteurs, OX1R et OX2R. Elles sont impliquées dans la régulation du sommeil, de la prise alimentaire et dans l’addiction aux drogues. Notre groupe a montré que les orexines via leur récepteur OX1R, étaient capables d’induire une forte apoptose dans des lignées cellulaires cancéreuses coliques humaines. Cette apoptose mitochondriale implique le recrutement de la protéine SHP2 via des séquences ITIM présents au niveau de l’interface intracellulaire des récepteurs. Nous avons montré qu’OX1R est exprimé de manière aberrante dans les cancers digestifs incluant les cancers du côlon, du pancréas et du foie mais n’est pas présent dans le tissu sain. De plus nous avons montré que les orexines avaient des effets anti-tumoraux puissants dans des modèles pré-cliniques de cancers digestifs.

 Notre projet vise à:

 image couvineau1Étudier la présence des orexines et de leurs récepteurs dans les états inflammatoires et précancéreux, spécialement dans les MICI et les lésions adénomateuses coliques et pancréatiques (polypes, PanIN..). Afin d’évaluer, le rôle des orexines et de leurs récepteurs durant la carcinogénèse, nous utiliserons différents modèles animaux incluant les modèles de souris traitées au DSS (aigue et chronique) ou bien des souris génétiquement modifiées comme les souris EXCY2 (E. Ogier-Denis, Paris) ou IL10-/- (A. Jarry, Nantes) lesquelles développent spontanément des tumeurs coliques sur colite inflammatoire. Des modèles de xénogreffes à partir de tumeurs prélevées chez le patient (xenograft derived patient, PDX) sont aussi en cours de développement.

 imagne couvineau2-Etudier le rôle des orexines sur les cellules isolées et/ou des explants tumoraux maintenus en culture à partir de tumeurs (côlon, foie, pancréas) prélevées chez le patient. Cette technologie innovante développée au sein de l’équipe permettra d’étudier ex vivo l’effet anti-tumoral des orexines par mesure des marqueurs de l’apoptose, de l’hypoxie et de l’angiogenèse. 

-Etudier les voies de signalisation déclenchées par OX1R et dans lesquelles le recrutement de SHP2 et l’activation de la voie du stress oxydatif (P38, ROS, NRF2….) sont impliquées dans le déclenchement de l’apoptose mitochondriale conduisant aux effets anti-tumoraux des orexines voire de leur effets anti-inflammatoires.

-Définir les relations structure-fonction des orexines et de son récepteur OX1R afin de développer des agonistes ayant un intérêt thérapeutique dans le traitement des cancers digestifs (côlon, foie et pancréas). En effet la connaissance des résidus impliqués dans l’interaction ligand/récepteur par des approches d’alanine-scanning, de mutagénèse dirigée associée à la modélisation moléculaire permettra en partenariat avec un groupe pharmaceutique de designer des molécules candidates. Des approches alternatives comme la production d’anticorps mimant l’effet agoniste des orexines sont aussi envisagées.

Ce projet à terme devrait permettre de :

image couvnineau3

1) comprendre le rôle de certains GPCRs comme les récepteurs OX dans l’induction des processus apoptotiques ;

2) définir le rôle potentiel des orexines dans le traitement des cancers digestifs et des MICI ;

3) développer des molécules innovantes à visée thérapeutiques.

 

 

Meilleures publications
Composition de l'équipe
Equipe Valérie Paradis, PUPH
Alain Couvineau, DR 
Chercheurs Pierre Bedossa, PUPH
  Jacques Belghiti, PUPH
  Laurent Castera, Médecin hosp
  Alain Couvineau, DR 
  Anne Couvelard, PUPH
  Jérôme Cros, AHU
  Olivier Farges, PUPH
  Nathalie Guedj, MCUPH
  Pascal Hammel, PUPH
  Rachida Lebtahi, PUPH 
  Philippe Levy, PUPH 
  Valérie Paradis, PUPH
  Nicolas Pote, AHU 
  Vinciane Rebours, MCUPH
  Philippe Ruszniewski, PUPH
  Alain Sauvanet, PUPH
  Thierry Voisin, CR 
Doctorants Stéphanie Dayot
  Nathalie Goutte
C. Neuzillet
Jerome Raffenne
Ingénieurs et techniciens Miguel Albuquerque, IR 
Pierre Bourgouin, Ing
Valérie Gratio, IE 
Samira Laouirem, IE 
Julie Le Faouder, IE
Gwendoline Le Guilloux, AI
Pascal Nicole, IE