Presentation

monteiro@bichat.inserm.frRenato Monteiro

mail_rouge48

Immunoreceptors and renal immunopathology

This project focuses on the mechanisms involved in understanding inflammatory diseases notably immune complex-mediated renal diseases.  Chronic kidney diseases (CKD) are a growing health problem worldwide as they lead to renal failure with so far limited treatment options. CKD can be caused by disorders that affect any of the kidney structures, including glomeruli (glomerulonephritis, GN), renal vessels, and the tubulo-interstitial compartment. Among the GN, IgA nephropathy (IgAN) is one of the first causes of end-stage renal disease worldwide. Therefore the characterization of mechanisms leading to IgAN is crucial. We previously showed that the TfR1 (Transferrin Receptor 1) is the IgA1 mesangial receptor and recently that this receptor binds to IgA1 in a physiological way, promoting erythroblast proliferation. In the physiopathology of IgAN, TfR1 is overexpressed on mesangial cells, inducing proliferation of these cells, via the PI3K/Akt pathway, and production of inflammatory cytokines via the MAPK/Erk pathway. Developing a new humanized mouse model of IgAN (a1KI-CD89Tg mice), we found that soluble (s) CD89 plays a pivotal role in IgANinducing the formation of mesangial nephritogenic deposits, mesangial TfR1 and transglutaminase 2 (TGase2) overexpression. Ablation of TGase2 gene resulted in protection from the disease, showing for the first time that TGase2 plays a crucial role in IgAN. We also showed similarities between the mechanisms involved in celiac disease (CD) with that of IgAN. In collaborative studies, we showed an increase of IgA complexes containing a gliadin peptide and apical expression of TfR1 on enterocytes in active CD patients, its overexpression allowing the retrograde transcytosis of gliadin peptide from apical to basal side of enterocytes. Moreover, we recently established gluten sensitivity in mice which developed characteristics of CD, including overexpression of TfR1 and TGase2, as well as overproduction of IgA. Abnormalities of IgA also arise in alcoholic cirrhosis (AC), including mesangial IgA deposits with possible development of secondary IgAN. We showed that abnormally glycosylated IgA1 and sCD89-IgA complexes, features of primary IgAN, are also present in AC, indicating that common environmental factors may influence IgAN development.

The team has a fundamental and transversal approach that focus on research on the modulation of inflammation and cell activation by ITAM-bearing receptors. We showed that CD89 (FcaRI) is a switch molecule that can induce either inhibition or cell activation, depending on the configuration of its ITAM and participate to the inhibisome. Inducing CD89 inhibitory ITAM (ITAMi) configuration prevented the development of inflammation in lung and kidney. The IgG receptor FcgRIII (CD16), another receptor expressing ITAM motif, is used in systemic infections by E Coli to induce an inhibitory configuration for the ITAM motif of CD16, allowing E coli to escape the immune system. IVIg also induce inhibitory ITAM signalling through CD16. Recently, we explored whether one could shift FcγRIIA activation from an ITAM signaling towards an ITAMi signaling as a relevant therapeutic strategy in rheumatoid arthritis using transgenic mice expressing FcγRIIA-R131. Anti-FcγRIIA antibodies or IVIg prevented rheumatoid arthritis development in these mice. The inhibitory mechanism was elucidated as induction of an ITAMi signaling by FcγRIIA. FcγRIIA ITAMi signaling reversed the inflammatory phenotype of human synovial fluid infiltrating cells from patients. Together, our data pointed that switching FcR from ITAM to ITAMi signaling opens new therapeutic perspectives in inflammatory diseases.

The project focus on four main axis:

  • Prognostic markers and animal model of IgA nephropathy
  • Factors influencing the development of glomerulonephritides
  • Modulation of inflammation through ITAM-bearing receptors
  • Modulation of inflammatory responses to control cancer development

Image1MonteiroImage2

Selected publications
  1. Sanae Ben Mkaddem, Amaya Murua, Héloise Flament, Dimitri Titeca, Carine Bounaix, Luca Danelli, Pierre Launay, Marc Benhamou, Ulrich Blank, Eric Daugas, Nicolas Charles, and Renato C. Monteiro. Lyn and Fyn function as molecular switches that control antigen receptors directing homeostasis or inflammation. Nat Comm, in press.doi : 10.1038/s41467-017-00294-0.
  2. Vidal-Petiot E, Ford I, Greenlaw N, Ferrari R, Fox KM, Tardif JC, Tendera M, Tavazzi L, Bhatt DL, Steg PG; CLARIFY Investigators. Cardiovascular event rates and mortality according to achieved systolic and diastolic blood pressure in patients with stable coronary artery disease: an international cohort study. Lancet. 2016 Aug 26. pii: S0140-6736(16)31326-5. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(16)31326-5.
  3. Ben Mkaddem S, Hayem G, Jönsson F, Rossato E, Boedec E, Boussetta T, El Benna J, Launay P, Goujon JM, Benhamou M, Bruhns P, Monteiro RC. Shifting FcγRIIA-ITAM from activation to inhibitory configuration ameliorates arthritis. J Clin Invest. 2014, 124(9):3945-59. 
  4. Aloulou M, Ben Mkaddem S, Biarnes-Pelicot M, Boussetta T, Souchet H, Rossato E, Benhamou M, Crestani B, Zhu Z, Blank U, Launay P, Monteiro RC. IgG1 and IVIg induce inhibitory ITAM signaling through FcγRIII controlling inflammatory responses. Blood. 2012, 119(13):3084-96.
  5. Berthelot L, Papista C, Maciel TT, Biarnes-Pelicot M, Tissandie E, Wang PH, Tamouza H, Jamin A, Bex-Coudrat J, Gestin A, Boumediene A, Arcos-Fajardo M, England P, Pillebout E, Walker F, Daugas E, Vrtosvnik F, Flamant M, Benhamou M, Cogné M, Moura IC, Monteiro RC. Transglutaminase is essential for IgA nephropathy development acting through IgA receptors. J Exp Med. 2012, 209(4):793-806. 
Team members
Equipe Professeur Renato Monteiro
 Chercheurs  Sanae Ben Mkaddem, CR
Georges Deschenes, PUPH
Martin Flamant, MCUPH
Héloïse Flament, AHU 
Colette, Kanellopoulos-Langevin, DR 
Renato Monteiro, PUPH
Pierre Ouzaidi Idir, Attaché 
Evangéline Pillebout, PH
Vincent Ravery, PUPH
Philippe Verbeke, MCF
Emmanuelle Vidal, MCUPH
François Vrtovsnik, PUPH
Doctorants Lilia Abbad
Nathalie Chavarot
Christian De Tymowski
James Gleeson
 Post-doctorants  Rafael Soler Torronteras
Ingénieurs & techniciens Erwan Boedec, IE
  Carine Bounaix, IE
Julie Bex-Coudrat, T

Présentation

Monteiro site équipeRenato Monteiro

mail_rouge48

Immunorécepteurs et immunopathologie rénale

Le projet de recherché de l’équipe se focalise sur la compréhension des mécanismes impliqués dans les maladies inflammatoires et plus particulièrement dans les maladies rénales à complexes immuns. Les maladies chroniques rénales (CKD) peuvent affecter différentes structures du rein : les glomérules (glomérulonéphrites, GN), les vaisseaux rénaux et le compartiment tubulo-interstitiel.  Parmi les GN, la néphropathie à IgA (N-IgA) est une des premières causes mondiales d’insuffisance rénale. Il est par conséquent crucial de caractériser les mécanismes conduisant à la N-IgA. Nous avons précédemment montré que le récepteur à la transferrine (TfR1) est le récepteur mésangial qui lie les IgA1 et, dans un contexte physiologique, cette interaction est impliquée dans la prolifération des erythroblastes. Dans la physiopathologie de la N-IgA, le TfR est surexprimé sur les cellules mésangiales, induisant leur prolifération, via la voie PI3K/Akt et la production de cytokines inflammatoires via la voie MAPK/Erk. Nous avons développé un nouveau modèle murin humanisé de la N-IgA (souris a1KI-CD89Tg) et montré que le CD89 soluble (s) joue un rôle clé dans la N-IgA induisant la formation de dépôts néphrotxiques, la surexpression du TfR1 et de la transglutaminsae 2 (TG2). La délétion du gène de la TG2 est protectrice dans la maladie, montrant pour la première fois que la TG2 joue un rôle crucial dans la N-IgA. Nous avons également montré des similarités mécanistiques dans la maladie céliaque (CD) et la N-IgA. Dans un travail collaboratif, nous avons montré une augmentation des complexes d’IgA contenant un peptide de la gliadine et une expression apicale du TfR1 sur les entérocytes chez les patients souffrant d’une CD active. Cette surexpression permet la transcytose rétrograde des peptides de la gliadine de la partie apicale vers la partie basale des entérocytes. De plus, nous avons établi récemment un modèle murin sensible au gluten qui développe des caractéristiques de la maladie CD, incluant la surexpression de la TG2 et du TfR1, la surproduction d’IgA. Les anomalies des IgA se produisent également dans la cirrhose alcoolique (AC), avec des dépôts d’IgA mésangiaux et le développement d’une N-IgA secondaire. Nous avons montré que la glycosylation anormale des IgA, les complexes IgA-CD89s, des caractéristiques de la N-IgA primaire, sont présentes dans la AC, indiquant des facteurs environnementaux communs qui pourrait influencer la survenue de la N-IgA.

L’équipe utilise des approches fondamentales et transversales pour étudier la modulation de l’inflammation et de l’activation cellulaire via les récepteurs à motifs ITAM. Nous avons montré que le récepteur CD89 (FcaRI) est une molécule commutatrice pouvant induire une inhibition ou une activation cellulaire, dépendantes de la configuration de son ITAM et qui participe à l’inhibisome. La configuration ITAM inhibiteur (ITAMi) du CD89 prévient le développement de l’inflammation dans les poumons et reins. Le récepteur aux IgG FcgRIII (CD16), un autre récepteur à motif ITAM, permet à la bactérie E coli d’échapper au système immunitaire qui se fixe à ce récepteur induisant un ITAMi lors d’infections. Les IVIg induisent également un signal ITAMi via le CD16. Récemment, nous avons exploré si le changement d’un signal activateur au niveau du FcγRIIA en ITAMi avait une relevance thérapeutique dans un modèle d’arthrite rhumatoïde chez des souris exprimant le FcγRIIA-R131 humain. Les anticorps anti-FcγRIIA ou des IVIg préviennent le développement de l’arthrite dans ces souris via l’induction d’un ITAMi. L’ITAMi de ce récepteur réverse le phénotype inflammatoire des cellules infiltrant le liquide synovial de patients. Nos résultats montrent que la commutation du signal ITAM vers un ITAMi ouvre de nouvelles perspectives dans les maladies inflammatoires.

Les quatre axes principaux du projet:

  • Marqueurs pronostiques et modèles animaux de la néphropathie à IgA
  • Facteurs influençant le développement des glomérolonéphrites
  • Modulation de l’inflammation par les récepteurs à ITAM
  • Modulation des réponses inflammatoires dans le contrôle du développement des cancers

Image2

Image1Monteiro

Meilleures publications
  1. Sanae Ben Mkaddem, Amaya Murua, Héloise Flament, Dimitri Titeca, Carine Bounaix, Luca Danelli, Pierre Launay, Marc Benhamou, Ulrich Blank, Eric Daugas, Nicolas Charles, and Renato C. Monteiro. Lyn and Fyn function as molecular switches that control antigen receptors directing homeostasis or inflammation. Nat Comm, in press.doi : 10.1038/s41467-017-00294-0.
  2. Vidal-Petiot E, Ford I, Greenlaw N, Ferrari R, Fox KM, Tardif JC, Tendera M, Tavazzi L, Bhatt DL, Steg PG; CLARIFY Investigators. Cardiovascular event rates and mortality according to achieved systolic and diastolic blood pressure in patients with stable coronary artery disease: an international cohort study. Lancet. 2016 Aug 26. pii: S0140-6736(16)31326-5. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(16)31326-5.
  3. Ben Mkaddem S, Hayem G, Jönsson F, Rossato E, Boedec E, Boussetta T, El Benna J, Launay P, Goujon JM, Benhamou M, Bruhns P, Monteiro RC. Shifting FcγRIIA-ITAM from activation to inhibitory configuration ameliorates arthritis. J Clin Invest. 2014, 124(9):3945-59.
  4. Aloulou M, Ben Mkaddem S, Biarnes-Pelicot M, Boussetta T, Souchet H, Rossato E, Benhamou M, Crestani B, Zhu Z, Blank U, Launay P, Monteiro RC. IgG1 and IVIg induce inhibitory ITAM signaling through FcγRIII controlling inflammatory responses. Blood. 2012, 119(13):3084-96.
  5. Berthelot L, Papista C, Maciel TT, Biarnes-Pelicot M, Tissandie E, Wang PH, Tamouza H, Jamin A, Bex-Coudrat J, Gestin A, Boumediene A, Arcos-Fajardo M, England P, Pillebout E, Walker F, Daugas E, Vrtosvnik F, Flamant M, Benhamou M, Cogné M, Moura IC, Monteiro RC. Transglutaminase is essential for IgA nephropathy development acting through IgA receptors. J Exp Med. 2012, 209(4):793-806.
Composition de l'équipe
Equipe Professeur Renato Monteiro
 Chercheurs  Sanae Ben Mkaddem, CR
Georges Deschenes, PUPH
Martin Flamant, MCUPH
Héloïse Flament, AHU 
Colette, Kanellopoulos-Langevin, DR 
Renato Monteiro, PUPH
Pierre Ouzaidi Idir, Attaché 
Evangéline Pillebout, PH
Vincent Ravery, PUPH
Philippe Verbeke, MCF
Emmanuelle Vidal, MCUPH
François Vrtovsnik, PUPH
Doctorants Lilia Abbad
Nathalie Chavarot
Christian De Tymowski
James Gleeson  
 Post-doctorants  Rafael Soler Torronteras
Ingénieurs & techniciens Erwan Boedec, IE
  Carine Bounaix, IE
Julie Bex-Coudrat, T